Mary Queen of Scots Teil 2 – Echtes Englisch

Real English Youtube 1

Willkommen zum Real English-Video dieses Monats, in dem ich Ihnen etwas über die Geschichte und Kultur von Edinburgh und Schottland erzähle und Sie eine großartige Englischstunde erhalten, in der Sprache im Kontext betrachtet wird! Dieser Monat ist der zweite Teil der Geschichte von Mary Queen of Scots. Schauen Sie sich unser Video an und lesen Sie unseren interaktiven Blog für einige großartige Englischübungen.

Bisherige Regierungszeit von Mary Queen of Scots….

Bevor Sie diesen Blog lesen, sollten Sie unbedingt nachholen der erste Teil von Mary's Geschichte hier. Wenn Sie dafür keine Zeit haben, hier ist eine super schnelle heruntergewirtschaftet wo wir in ihrer Geschichte sind!

  • Mit 18 Jahren war Mary Königin von Frankreich geworden, verwitwet und zurückgekehrt, um ein widerspenstiges Schottland zu regieren, das kürzlich zum Protestantismus konvertiert war
  • Elisabeth die Erste war Königin von England geworden
  • Marys Onkel hatten England absichtlich verärgert, indem sie Marys Anspruch auf den englischen Thron erklärten
  • Mary bat Elizabeth, ihren Thronfolger von England zu ernennen, Elizabeth schwieg zu dieser Angelegenheit
  • Mary heiratete erneut Lord Darnley, der sich als arroganter Betrunkener herausstellte. Er fing an zu überlegen, wie er am besten Marys Krone für sich selbst bekommen könnte
  • Marys Freund Rizzio wurde vor ihren Augen ermordet und 57 Mal erstochen, organisiert von Darnley
  • Mary brachte ihren Sohn James 6. von Schottland zur Welt
  • Darnley brachte die protestantischen Lords, die offen gegen Mary rebelliert hatten, dazu, nach Schottland zurückzukehren und ihren Sitz im Privy Council einzunehmen
  • Darnley stirbt "bei einer Explosion". Kirk o' Fields aber an seinem Körper wurden keine Brandspuren gefunden. Er war jedoch erstickt

Aber zuerst ist es Zeit, Bothwell zu treffen

Teil 2 von Marys Geschichte beginnt mit einer neuen Figur – James Hepburn, 4. Earl of Bothwell. Bothwell war ein Unterstützer von gewesen Marie de Guise und war ein vertrauter Freund von Mary geworden

Um eine Vorstellung von Bothwells Charakter zu bekommen, hier ein paar Hintergrundinformationen; Er war mit einer norwegischen Adligen verlobt (und möglicherweise verheiratet), die er in Flandern zurückließ, nachdem er sie gebeten hatte, ihren gesamten Besitz zu verkaufen und ihre Familie um mehr Geld zu bitten. Anschließend heiratete er Lady Jean Gordon Mai 1567 unter Berufung auf seine Ehebruch mit ihrer Dienerin Bessie Crawford. Wie Sie sehen können, war er nicht gerade ein guter Ehemann. Aber genau das ist er geworden!

Portrait of James Hepburn, 4th Earl of Bothwell, c 1535 - 1578 and Mary Queen of SCots third husband
James Hepburn, 4. Earl of Bothwell, um 1535 – 1578.

Die allgemein erzählte Geschichte von Mary Queen of Scots und dem Earl of Bothwell

Die bekannteste Geschichte über Mary und Bothwell ist, dass sie ein Liebespaar waren. Es war Bothwell, der Darnley in Kirk o' Fields ermordet hatte, um Mary heiraten zu können, und sie ließ seinen Prozess zu weiß getüncht indem er Beweise nicht zuließ und er freigesprochen wurde. Sie heirateten dann und bewiesen, dass sie eine leidenschaftliche Affäre hatten. Mary wurde mit Zwillingen schwanger, also wurde die Ehe vollzogen. All dies verärgerte die protestantischen Lords sehr (WIEDER!), und Mary und Bothwell verloren ihren Kampf gegen sie und zwangen sie beide, aus dem Land zu fliehen. Mary wurde dazu gezwungen abdanken und überließ den Thron ihrem protestantischen Sohn und erlitt auch bei den Zwillingen eine Fehlgeburt.

Aber das war nicht, was passiert ist.

Mary und Bothwell wurden beide von den protestantischen Lairds und William Cecil, Elizabeths erstem politischen Berater, manipuliert. Sie orchestrierten a Hetzkampagne um die Öffentlichkeit davon zu überzeugen, dass sie des Mordes an Darnley schuldig waren und eine Affäre mit dem Endziel hatten, Marys Halbbruder als Regenten auf den Thron zu bringen.

Es war klar, dass Mary sich nicht von ihrem problematischen Ehemann Darnley scheiden lassen würde, weil dies den Anspruch ihres Sohnes auf den Thron beeinträchtigen würde. Also beschlossen die Lords, die ihr rieten, das Problem am besten zu lösen, indem sie ihn ermordeten. Sie überredeten Bothwell, es zu tun, aber weil er Mary gegenüber loyal war, sagten sie ihm, dass er sie heiraten und Königsgemahl werden würde, um ihn dazu zu überreden. Sie gingen dann weiter und posteten Plakate in ganz Edinburgh sagten, Bothwell habe Darnley ermordet und Mary sei darin verwickelt. Mary wurde als Meerjungfrau dargestellt, das Symbol einer Prostituierten, die über einem Hasen saß, der Bothwell gehörte Kamm.​

Sketch of the posters which aimed to smear Mary Queen of Scots and Bothwell, c.June 1567 of a mermaid sitting on top of a hare
Skizze der Plakate, die darauf abzielten, Mary Queen of Scots und Bothwell zu verleumden, ca. Juni 1567

Als sie versuchten, Mary dazu zu bringen, ihn zu heiraten, lehnte sie jedoch ab. Das war ein Hauptfach Schraubenschlüssel in Arbeit ihres Plans. Bothwell löste das Problem, indem er sie 4 Tage später entführte und zu sich brachte Dunbar wo er sie überredete, dass sie zu ihrer gegenseitigen Sicherheit heiraten müssten. Bothwell war noch nicht von seiner ersten Frau geschieden, also mussten sie sich vor der Ehe vollziehen, um Ansprüche geltend zu machen, da dies bedeutete, dass sie schwanger sein könnte. Es wird auch vermutet, dass dies nicht einvernehmlich war und er sie vergewaltigte.

Mary und Bothwell zogen in den Krieg

Eine Gruppe protestantischer Lairds rief sofort die Konföderierten an ergriff die Waffen gegen sie. Aber auch das war Teil des Plans. Sie ließen Bothwell entkommen, denn wenn er vor Gericht gestellt würde, würde die Verschwörung es tun ans Licht kommen. Mary wurde inhaftiert Schloss Loch Leven und zur Abdankung gezwungen. Ihr wurde gesagt, dass sie sich, um ihre Würde zu wahren, nicht vor Gericht stellen würde, aber dies lag höchstwahrscheinlich auch daran, dass dies aufgedeckt worden wäre Handlung. Die protestantischen Verschwörer hatten Erfolg gehabt. Sie hatten die katholische Königin losgeworden und sie durch den jungen protestantischen König ersetzt.

Photo of Loch Leven castle where mary Queen of SCots was imprisoned, taken from the main land. You can see the castle on the isalnd surrounded by trees in the middle of the loch.
Loch Leven Castle, wo Mary gefangen gehalten wurde

Mary flieht nach England

Mary gelang es, Loch Leven zu entkommen und nach England zu fliehen. Sie erwartete voll und ganz, dass Elizabeth ihr Zufluchtsort geben und sie dabei unterstützen würde, ihre Krone zurückzubekommen. Elizabeth war vorsichtig und ordnete eine Untersuchung des Verhaltens der konföderierten Lords und der Frage an, ob Mary an Darnleys Mord schuldig war. Eine Untersuchungskommission oder Konferenz, wie sie genannt wurde, wurde zwischen Oktober 1568 in York und später in Westminster abgehalten und Januar 1569, um Marys Position zu bestimmen

Die Sargbriefe

Dann explodierte der ultimative Skandal. Als gesalbte Königin weigerte sich Maria, die Macht eines Gerichts anzuerkennen, sie vor Gericht zu stellen. Sie weigerte sich, persönlich an der Untersuchung in York teilzunehmen, schickte aber Vertreter. Elizabeth verbot ihr die Teilnahme sowieso. Um seine Behauptung zu untermauern, präsentierte Moray die berüchtigt Sargbriefe vor Gericht. Diese zeigten, dass Mary einen hatte Affäre mit Bothwell und dass sie beide an seinem Mord beteiligt waren. Mary bestritt, sie geschrieben zu haben, und bestand darauf, dass sie es waren Fälschungen. Wir wissen immer noch nicht, ob sie es waren oder nicht.

Die Mehrheit der Kommissare akzeptierte die Sargbriefe als echt, nachdem sie ihren Inhalt studiert und die Handschrift mit Beispielen von Mary verglichen hatten. Aber Elizabeth hatte nie die Absicht gehabt, dies zu tun freisprechen oder Mary hinrichten. Es gab nie die Absicht, ein Urteil zu fällen, die Konferenz war als politische Übung gedacht. Am Ende kehrte Moray nach Schottland zurück Regent und Mary blieb in England in Haft. Elizabeth war es gelungen, eine protestantische Regierung in Schottland aufrechtzuerhalten, ohne Mary entweder zu verurteilen oder freizulassen.

Mary würde für den Rest ihres Lebens eine Gefangene sein

Für die nächsten 17 Jahre blieb Mary in verschiedenen Schlössern und Häusern in England eingesperrt. Sie war in eine Reihe von Plänen verwickelt, um die Kontrolle über Schottland zurückzugewinnen oder Sturz Elizabeth, aber nichts wurde bewiesen. Elizabeth fuhr fort auf dem Zaun sitzen. Als das englische Parlament a Rechnung indem sie Maria vom Thron verbannte, weigerte sich Elisabeth, ihm die königliche Zustimmung zu geben. Mary versuchte alles, was ihr einfiel, um ihre Freiheit zu erlangen, einschließlich, ihrem Sohn zu schreiben und all ihre Prinzipien aufzugeben, nur um freigelassen zu werden. Mary hatte James 6. in 17 Jahren nicht gesehen, und er war erzogen worden, um zu glauben, dass seine Mutter eine Verräterin war. Anstelle eines Vertrags mit seiner Mutter unterzeichnete er einen Bündnisvertrag mit Elizabeth und verließ Mary. 

Die Babington-Verschwörung

Ihr EndeIch mache es rückgängig war die Babington-Verschwörung. Briefe wurden abgefangen, die sie in den Versuch verwickelten, Elizabeth zu entthronen. Es gibt Beweise dafür, dass sie dazu manipuliert wurde, aber sie Untergang war ein Brief, in dem es hieß:

Lasst die große Verschwörung beginnen. Signiert, Maria

A photo of the leters of the Babington plot and the cypher that was used to decode the messages and implicate Mary Queen of Scots
Marys Feinde entschlüsselten die Briefe, in denen sie sich in die Verschwörung verwickelte

Mary wurde vor Gericht gestellt, für schuldig befunden und zum Tode verurteilt, trotz ihrer Proteste, dass sie nicht vor Gericht gestellt werden könne, da sie keine englische Staatsbürgerin sei. Elizabeth zögerte jedoch aus triftigen Gründen, das Todesurteil zu unterzeichnen. Sie war besorgt, dass die Ermordung einer Königin einen diskreditierenden Präzedenzfall darstellte, und war besorgt über die Folgen, insbesondere wenn Jakobus 6. ein Bündnis mit den katholischen Mächten eingehen und in England einmarschieren sollte. Und sie glaubte an das göttliche Herrschaftsrecht. Aber am 1. Februar 1587 unterzeichnete Elizabeth das Todesurteil,

Wie starb Mary Queen of Scots?

Sie wurde am 8. Februar 1587 hingerichtet. Es ist Stoff für Legenden. Als der Henker sie um Vergebung bat, was damals typisch für Hinrichtungen war, antwortete Mary: „Ich vergebe dir von ganzem Herzen, denn jetzt hoffe ich, dass du all meinen Schwierigkeiten ein Ende bereiten wirst.“ Sie kleidete sich in Purpur Braun, die katholische Farbe des Martyriums. Ihre letzten Worte waren: In manus tuas, Domine, commendo spiritum meum („In deine Hände, o Herr, befehle ich meinen Geist.“ Es brauchte 3 Schläge, um ihren Kopf abzuschlagen. Der erste Schlag verfehlte ihren Hals und traf ihren Hinterkopf. ​

Mary Queen of CSots being led down some steps to her execution
Mary, Queen of Scots, wird von Laslett John Pott (1871) zu ihrer Hinrichtung geführt

Der zweite Schlag durchtrennte den Hals bis auf ein kleines Stückchen Sehne, die der Henker mit der Axt durchschnitt. Als der Henker ihren Kopf hob, blieb ihr berühmtes rotes Haar in seinen Händen und ihr Kopf rollte weg. Sie hatte eine getragen Perücke, und hatte in Wirklichkeit kurze graue Haare. Ihre gesamte Kleidung, der Block und alles, was von ihrem Blut berührt wurde, wurde im Kamin der Großen Halle verbrannt, um zu verhindern, dass die Menschen sie als Reliquien mitnehmen.

Elizabeth I reagierte schlecht

Als die Nachricht von der Hinrichtung Elizabeth erreichte, wurde sie empört. Sie behauptete, ihre Befehle seien missachtet worden und sie habe das Todesurteil nicht unterschrieben. Ihre Unbestimmtheit und Unentschlossenheit ermöglichten es Elizabeth, sich der Verantwortung für Marys Tod zu entziehen. Oder vielleicht war sie wirklich aufgebracht

Portrait of King James 6th Scotland as an adult, son of Mary Queen of Scots
Kimg James VI von Schottland und I von England

Aber Mary irgendwie hatte zuletzt gelacht. Elizabeth starb, ohne Erben zu hinterlassen. Das bedeutete, dass der nächste in der Thronfolge James 6. von Schottland, Marys Sohn, war. Er wurde auch James 1st England, und durch ihn sahen wir die Union of the Crowns

Dies würde Schottland für immer grundlegend verändern, aber das ist eine andere Geschichte.

Möchten Sie mehr Englisch im Kontext lernen? Dann melde dich bei unserem Online-Unbegrenzter Kurs. Sie können eine Woche kostenlos testen! Wir bieten auch eine große Auswahl an allgemeinem Englisch und Prüfungsvorbereitungskurse.

Nach oben scrollen

Mary Queen of Scots Part 2 – Real English

Real English Youtube 1

Welcome to this month’s Real English video where I tell you about Edinburgh and Scotland’s history and culture, and you get a great English lesson looking at language in context! This month is the second part of Mary Queen of Scots’ story. Check out our video and read our interactive blog for some great English practice.

Mary Queen of Scots’ reign so far….

Before reading this blog, make sure to catch up with the first part of Mary’s story here. If you don’t have time for that, here’s a super quick rundown of where we are in her story!

  • By the age of 18, Mary had become Queen of France, was widowed, and had returned to govern a fractious Scotland recently converted to Protestantism​
  • Elizabeth the 1st had become Queen of England​
  • Mary’s uncles had deliberately antagonized England by stating Mary’s claim to the English throne
  • Mary asked Elizabeth to name her heir to England’s throne, Elizabeth kept quiet on the matter​
  • Mary re-married Lord Darnley who turned out to be an arrogant drunk. He started plotting about how best to get Mary’s crown for himself​
  • Mary’s friend Rizzio was murdered in front of her and stabbed 57 times, organized by Darnley.​
  • Mary gave birth to her son James 6th of Scotland​
  • Darnley got the protestant lords who had openly rebelled against Mary to come back to Scotland and take their seat on the Privy Council.​
  • Darnley dies “in an explosion” at Kirk o’ Fields but no burn marks were found on his body. He had however been suffocated​

But first, it’s time to meet Bothwell

Part 2 of Mary’s story starts with a new character – James Hepburn, 4th Earl of Bothwell​. Bothwell had been a supporter of Marie de Guise and had become a trusted friend of Mary​

To get an idea of Bothwell’s character, here is some background for you; he’d been engaged (and possibly married) to a Norwegian noblewoman who he abandoned in Flanders after asking her to sell all of her possessions, and ask her family for more money​ He then married Lady Jean Gordon.​ They were divorced on 7 May 1567, citing his adultery with her servant Bessie Crawford​. As you can see, he wasn’t exactly good husband material. But that’s exactly what he became!

Portrait of James Hepburn, 4th Earl of Bothwell, c 1535 - 1578 and Mary Queen of SCots third husband
James Hepburn, 4th Earl of Bothwell, c 1535 – 1578.

The commonly told story of Mary Queen of Scots and the Earl of Bothwell

The most well-known history about Mary and Bothwell is that they were lovers. It was Bothwell who had murdered Darnley at Kirk o’ Fields in order to be able to marry Mary​, and she allowed his trial to be whitewashed by not allowing evidence and he was acquitted.​ They then got married, proving that they had been having a passionate affair​. Mary got pregnant with twins, so the marriage was consummated.​ All of this greatly angered the Protestant lords (AGAIN!), and Mary and Bothwell lost their battle against them, forcing them both to flee the country ​. Mary was made to abdicate and leave the throne to her protestant son, and also miscarried the twins​.

But this wasn’t what happened.

Mary and Bothwell were both manipulated by the protestant lairds and William Cecil, Elizabeth’s 1st political advisor. They orchestrated a smear campaign to convince the public that they were guilty of murdering Darnley and had been having an affair with the end goal of getting Mary’s half-brother on the throne as regent.

It was clear that Mary wouldn’t divorce her problematic husband Darnley because it would affect her son’s claim to the throne. So the lords who advised her decided the best way to solve the problem was by murdering him. They persuaded Bothwell to do it, but because he was loyal to Mary, they told him that he would marry her and be king consort to help persuade him to do it. They then went further and posted placards all over Edinburgh saying Bothwell had murdered Darnley and that Mary was involved​. Mary was portrayed as a mermaid, the symbol of a prostitute, sitting above a hare, which was Bothwell’s crest.​

Sketch of the posters which aimed to smear Mary Queen of Scots and Bothwell, c.June 1567 of a mermaid sitting on top of a hare
Sketch of the posters which aimed to smear Mary Queen of Scots and Bothwell, c.June 1567

When they tried to get Mary to marry him though, she refused. This was a major spanner in the works of their plan. Bothwell solved the problem by abducting her 4 days later,  and took her to Dunbar where he persuaded her they needed to get married for their mutual security​. Bothwell wasn’t divorced yet form his first wife, so they needed to consummate before the marriage to add claim, as that meant she might be pregnant​. It is also suggested that this was not consensual, and he raped her​.

Mary and Bothwell went to war

A group of protestant lairds called the Confederates immediately took up arms against them. But this was also part of the plan. They let Bothwell escape because if he was put on trial, the conspiracy would come to light. Mary was imprisoned at Loch Leven Castle and forced to abdicate​. She was told that to save her dignity she wouldn’t face trial, but this was also most likely because it would have exposed the plot​. The protestant plotters had been successful. They had got rid of the catholic queen and replaced her with the infant proestant king.

Photo of Loch Leven castle where mary Queen of SCots was imprisoned, taken from the main land. You can see the castle on the isalnd surrounded by trees in the middle of the loch.
Loch Leven castle, where Mary was kept as a prisoner

Mary escapes to England

Mary managed to escape Loch Leven and fled to England​. She fully expected Elizabeth to give her sanctuary and support her in getting her crown back​. Elizabeth was cautious, ordering an inquiry into the conduct of the confederate lords and the question of whether Mary was guilty of Darnley’s murder.​ A commission of inquiry, or conference, as it was known, was held in York and later Westminster between October 1568 and January 1569 to determine Mary’s position​

The Casket Letters

Then the ultimate scandal blew up​. As an anointed queen, Mary refused to acknowledge the power of any court to try her. ​ She refused to attend the inquiry at York personally but sent representatives. Elizabeth forbade her attendance anyway.​ To support his claim, Moray presented the infamous Casket Letters in court​. These showed that Mary had been having an affair with Bothwell and that they were both involved in his murder​. Mary denied writing them and insisted they were forgeries​. We still don’t know if they were or not.

The majority of the commissioners accepted the casket letters as genuine after a study of their contents and comparison of the handwriting with examples of Mary’s.​ But Elizabeth had never had any plan to acquit or execute Mary. There was never any intention to give a verdict, the conference was intended as a political exercise. ​ In the end, Moray returned to Scotland as regent and Mary remained in custody in England. ​ Elizabeth had succeeded in maintaining a Protestant government in Scotland, without either condemning or releasing Mary.

Mary would be a prisoner for the rest of her life

For the next 17 years, Mary would remain imprisoned in various castles and houses in England. She was implicated in a number of plots to take back control of Scotland or overthrow Elizabeth​, but nothing was proven. Elizabeth continued to sit on the fence. When the English Parliament introduced a bill barring Mary from the throne,Elizabeth refused to give it royal assent​. Mary tried everything she could think of to get her freedom, including writing to her son and giving up all her principles just to be released. Mary hadn’t seen James 6th in 17 years, and he had been raised to believe his mother was a traitor.  Instead of a treaty with his mother, he signed an alliance treaty with Elizabeth, abandoning Mary. 

The Babington Plot

Her final undoing was the Babington Plot​. Letters were intercepted which implicated her in trying to de-throne Elizabeth​. There is evidence to say she was manipulated into doing this, but her downfall was a letter which said:​

Let the great plot commence. Signed, Mary​

A photo of the leters of the Babington plot and the cypher that was used to decode the messages and implicate Mary Queen of Scots
Mary’s enemies decoded the letters where she implicated herself in the plot

Mary was tried, found guilty, and sentenced to death, despite her protests that she couldn’t be tried as she wasn’t an English subject​. Elizabeth however hesitated in signing the death warrant​, with valid reasons. She was concerned that the killing of a queen set a discreditable precedent ​ and was worried about the consequences, especially if James 6th formed an alliance with the Catholic powers and invaded England​. And she believed in divine right to rule​. But on 1 February 1587, Elizabeth signed the death warrant,

How did Mary Queen of Scots die?

She was executed on 8th February 1587​. It is stuff of legend​. When the executioner asked her for forgiveness, which was typical for executions at the time, Mary replied, “I forgive you with all my heart, for now, I hope, you shall make an end of all my troubles.​ She dressed in crimson brown, the catholic colour of martyrdom​. Her last words were, In manus tuas, Domine, commendo spiritum meum (“Into thy hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit”​. It took 3 strikes to cut off her head. The first blow missed her neck and struck the back of her head. ​

Mary Queen of CSots being led down some steps to her execution
Mary, Queen of Scots, being led to her execution by Laslett John Pott (1871)

The second blow severed the neck, except for a small bit of sinew, which the executioner cut through using the axe. ​ When the executioner lifted up her head, her famous red hair stayed in his hands and her head rolled away​. She had been wearing a wig, and in reality had short grey hair​. All her clothing, the block, and everything touched by her blood was burnt in the fireplace of the Great Hall to stop people taking them as relics.

Elizabeth I reacted badly

When the news of the execution reached Elizabeth, she became indignant ​. She claimed that her orders had been disobeyed and that she hadn’t signed the death warrant. Her vagueness and indecision allowed Elizabeth to avoid responsibility for Mary’s death.  Or perhaps, she was genuinely upset

Portrait of King James 6th Scotland as an adult, son of Mary Queen of Scots
Kimg James VI of Scotland and I of England

But Mary kind of had the last laugh. Elizabeth died without leaving any heirs.​ That meant that the next in line to the throne was James 6th of Scotland, Mary’s son​. He became James 1st England as well, and through him we saw the Union of the Crowns​

This would fundamentally change Scotland forever​, but that’s another story.

Would you like to learn more English in context? Then sign up to our Online Unlmited course. You can try a week for free! We also offer a great selection of general English and exam preparation courses.

Scroll to Top